Soy

Ever noticed how soy is everywhere in our foods?  I hadn’t, until a recent issue with Picklebee’s digestive system (I’m a nursing Mom), led us to cut dairy and soy out of our diets for a while.   I don’t have anything against soy per se, but trying to go on a soy-free diet did make me realize how many processed foods I eat that I didn’t even consider as “processed foods.”  But if I didn’t know that they had soy in them, then I guess they must have been processed beyond at least my recognition.  Your pantry will likely differ from mine, but here’s a few soy surprises I found.

breakfast cereal (soy flour)

mayonnaise (soybean oil)

chocolate chips <sigh!> (soy lecithin)

margarine (soybean oil)

hamburger buns (soy oil)

According to the USDA, the US is the world’s leading producer and exporter of soy products.  That means we eat a lot of soy, whether we know it or not.  Check your shelves -what’s the craziest thing  you eat that you’ve found soy in?

Leave a comment

Filed under food

Leave a comment